Telephone: 024 76325880 

Level 2 Award in MOT

Testing (Classes 4 and 7)




The IMI Level 2 Award in MOT Testing is the second stage in becoming a qualified MOT tester.

It was developed alongside the Driver and Vehicle Standards Agency (DVSA) and is designed to equip learners with the qualification, knowledge and skills necessary to carry out and accurate and repeatable MOT Test Routine.

Once you have successfully completed and passed this award, the final stage (stage 3) will be to complete a VT8 demonstration MOT test with a DVSA assessor to receive your certificate of competence.  This will normally be conducted in your own Vehicle Testing Station (VTS) and successful completion will allow you to commence testing with immediate effect.

Course Overview 

The main topics covered during the course are:

Our courses are ran using a blend of practical and theory based study in small groups of 4 candidates in order to maximise on tutor contact time. 
Upon application, we will send you some pre-course learning materials and videos to study that will fully prepare you for what is a very demanding course and assessment.  Completion of this work forms part of the guided learning hours for this course and is therefore mandatory.   Candidates failing to complete this work may be refused entry onto the course.
Who Should Attend

The IMI Level 2 Award in MOT Testing (Classes 4 and 7), has been developed for individuals who would like to improve their career by becoming qualified MOT Testers.

The course is normally ran over three days with the final assessments being conducted on day 3.  A four day course can be arranged for those learners who feel that they may need more time.  Please let us know if you would like us to arrange this for you. 

The assessments consists of an online test of approximately 40 questions and a demonstration MOT where you will be observed carrying out a full MOT demo test. 

The theory part of the test is 'open book' which means you will be able to use reference materials such as the MOT Testers Manual during the test.  The pass mark for this test is 80%.

Learners wishing to undertake this course MUST posess a good standard of written and spoken English as all MOT training and testing is conducted in English.

Entry Requirements

To be eligible to undertake the The IMI Level 2 Award in MOT Testing (Classes 4 and 7), you must:

  • have a current and full UK driving licence for the classes of vehicle you wish to test
  • be a skilled mechanic, with at least 4 years full-time employment in the service and repair of cars and vans.
  • have a suitable level 3 qualification (please see list below)
  • have no unspent convictions for criminal offences connected with the MOT testing scheme or the motor trade, or involving acts of violence or intimidation
  • and be of good repute.
Click here for acceptable entry qualifications.
I don't have a qualification listed
If you do not have one of the qualifications listed, don't worry, you can gain a level 3 accreditation through us.  Please click here for further information.

What you will achieve

Successful completion of the IMI Level 2 Award in MOT Testing (Classes 4 and 7),  will give you a valuable academic qualification recognised by the DVSA that demonstrates your skills and knowledge in conducting MOT testing. 

Cost of Course

The cost of this course is £795 + VAT for the standard 3 day course and £1060 + VAT for the 4 day option.  Discounts are avaiable for group bookings.

To find out more, please use the live chat function, visit our contact page or

call us on 024 76325880