Contact Us 
Telephone: 024 76325880 

Level 2 Award in MOT

Testing (Classes 4 and 7)




The IMI Level 2 Award in MOT Testing (Classes 4 and 7) has been developed with DVSA/VOSA to provide learners with the knowledge and skills required to perform the MOT Test Routine. After successfully completing this course, the final stage will be to complete a VT8 demo MOT test with a DVSA representative to receive your testers license.

The IMI Award in MOT Testing (Classes 4 and 7) will not expire, and those who have completed will be considered professionally competent for their life time.

Course Overview

The IMI Level 2 Award in MOT Testing (Classes 4 and 7) replaces the Nominated Tester Training (NTT) which was formerly run by the DVSA. The qualification is for individuals who wish to become fully qualified MOT Testers for cars and vans. The course is designed to develop your skills around the MOT Testing Routine to help you become a Nominated Tester for classes 4 and 7.

The main topics covered during the course are:

Our courses and ran using a blend of practical and theory based study in small groups in order to maximise on tutor contact time.  We make learning easy by putting in place meaningful assessments that reflect the demands of today’s competitive industry, giving you a solid grounding in key principles and ideas.

Once you have completed your IMI Level 2 Award in MOT Testing (Classes 4 and 7), you will need to complete a VT8 Observation, which is the final step in your journey to become an MOT Tester and gain your MOT qualification.

Who Should Attend

The IMI Level 2 Award in MOT Testing (Classes 4 and 7), has been developed for individuals who would like to improve their career by becoming qualified MOT Testers for cars and vans.

The course is ran over three days with your final assessments being conducted on day 3. 

The assessments consists of an online test of approximately 40 questions and a demonstration MOT where you will be observed carrying out a full MOT demo test. 

The theory part of the test is 'open book' which means you will be able to use reference materials such as the MOT Testers Manual during the test.  The pass mark for this test is 80%.

Learners wishing to undertake this course MUST possess a good standard of written and spoken English as all MOT training and testing is conducted in English.

Entry Requirements

To be eligible to undertake the The IMI Level 2 Award in MOT Testing (Classes 4 and 7), you must:

  • have a current and full UK driving licence for the classes of vehicle you wish to test
  • be a skilled mechanic, with at least 4 years full-time employment in the service and repair of the vehicle types to be tested.
  • have no unspent convictions for criminal offences connected with the MOT testing scheme or the motor trade, or involving acts of violence or intimidation
  • and be of good repute.
To become a nominated tester (NT) for classes 3,4,5 or 7 vehicles, you must also have an appropriate qualification.  Please click the link below to check for acceptable qualifications.
Click here for acceptable entry qualifications.
I don't have a qualification listed
If you do not have one of the qualifications listed, don't worry, you can gain a level 3 accreditation through us.  Please click here for further information.

What you will achieve

Successful completion of the IMI Level 2 Award in MOT Testing (Classes 4 and 7),  will give you a valuable academic qualification recognised by the DVSA that demonstrates your skills and knowledge in conducting MOT testing.  Once completed, you can enter your certificate number on the MOT testing Service and apply to complete your final VT8 observation with a DVSA assessor. 

Cost of Course
The cost of this course is £795 + VAT per candidate.  Please contact us for further information.